Class of 2021 elects its first council



UPDATED AS OF 9/14/2017: Sydney Field (Fr.) has been elected as Freshmen Council Vice President.

News Section Editor
The current Freshmen class elected a thirty-member council for the 2017-2018 school year last Friday that is to be led by newly elected Freshmen Class President Teddy Hur (Fr.) and Freshman Class Vice President Sydney Field (Fr.).
Students had until 11:59 PM on Friday to submit their votes through the Associated Student Body’s (ASB) website. The Five Star program, which was used to collect the votes was the same program used to tabulate votes for Freshmen, Sophomore, Junior and Senior class Councils last year.
ASB revealed the results of the vote at 6:00 PM Saturday night, declaring, out of the forty-three total candidates for President, Vice President and council positions, twenty-nine council members and one president.
The vice president was chosen through an interview with ASB President Ryan Long (Sr.), ASB Vice President Kevin Yahampath (Sr.), Ms. Shannon Bunch (Science Dept.), Sra. Michelle Fox (World Languages Dept.), and Hur.
The new Freshmen council members are Katherine Courtiss (Fr.), Nidhi Desu (Fr.), Izzy Pagano (Fr.),  Milan Narula (Fr.),  Andrew Kim (Fr.), Peter Park (Fr.),  Kortney Maeda (Fr.),  Claire Choi (Fr.), Sydney Field (Fr.),  Haaris Mobin (Fr.),  Zenya Hsu (Fr.), Henry Feuerborn (Fr.),  Amberley Martinez (Fr.),  Daniel Hong (Fr.),  Danielle Prosky (Fr.), Gloria Park (Fr.),  Dylan Ohashi (Fr.), Nikki Ghaemi (Fr.),  Johnny Bashawaty (Fr.),  Cheyenne Hwang (Fr.), Baran Khoraminejad (Fr.),  Julia Muldowney (Fr.),  Kristina Yan (Fr.),  Anjali Arasasingham (Fr.),  Caden Chow (Fr.),  Kavin Krishnam (Fr.), Claire Ke (Fr.), Olga Barbashova (Fr.) and Caroline Mumm (Fr.).